Articles

THE MIMIC THEATRE

In Uncategorized on September 5, 2010 by donnbmurphy

Born in San Antonio, TX, I was brought up, via Chicago, in Leavenworth, Kansas, where my father was President of St. Mary College (now University). He was the first layman hired by an order of nuns to preside over their college. My earliest memories are visual: seeing a cartoon shown in Marshall Field’s department store at Christmastime, and making a drawing of a candy store in red, blue-green and yellow crayons.

I also remember seeing a performance of JANE EYRE at St. Mary as a child. I understood little, but I was captivated by the spectacle. The setting was candle-lit and had three round arches hung with red drapes. I made a miniature cardboard model of the set, with painted drapes and gilt arches, adding birthday candles for sconces.

About that time, I recall, my mother sewed little chasubles for my brother and me, and provided a “chalice” and little vases of flowers — encouraging us to play “Mass”, hoping, I presume, to encourage vocations to the priesthood. No luck on that.

Undaunted, she turned to my evident theatrical inclinations. When I was in the second grade, I received an astounding present. Under the tree on Christmas morning were four beautiful maroon boxes, one containing a script she had written, and the others holding costumes she had sewn.

The play was THE PRINCE WHO FELL OUT OF THE SKY. I played a King, my brother was the prince, and our neighbor, Lois Linck, portrayed the Princess. The prince, an aviator with engine trouble, parachuted into my kingdom and fell in love with my daughter. I clearly recall my cotton burgundy gown with paint-daubed white flannel “ermine” trim, Lois’ blue dress overlaid with panels of lace curtain salvaged from our previous residence, and my brother’s aviator cap.

Having opened these presents, I was led to the basement, where my father had rigged a set of blue curtains (also from our previous home) with pulleys, enclosing a stage about six feet deep and twelve feet wide. Lights on either side – controlled by pull cords – lit the playing space. My mother had sewn a maroon valance, and in bias tape had identified: “The Mimic Theatre.” It was here that THE PRINCE debuted, prior to its triumphant tour to the First through Fourth Grades at Sacred heart School. My future was sealed.

(I should also report that my far-sighted parents gave my brother a hectograph, on which he duplicated a neighborhood news sheet. He then began reporting grade-school basketball scores, and eventually became a newspaper editor in Philadelphia.)


Donn B. Murphy, Ph.D.
President and Executive Director

The National Theatre
1321 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20004

703-524-1616
703-524-1919 Fax
dbm@nationaltheatre.org
http://www.nationaltheatre.org

Leave a comment